You Reap What You Sow

Stephen Covey used a quotation taken from Ralph Waldo Emerson that I thought was especially encouraging, yet basic at its core.

That which we persist in doing becomes easier—not that the nature of the task has changed, but our ability to do has increased

-Ralph Waldo Emerson

In a point in my life where many of the daily tasks I am doing are relatively new to me, a lot of them seem appropriately daunting. I am learning valuable skills in these coming years that will be pertinent in relation to my life, career, and future family, and it is easy to try and look for an easy route. Most things in life have no “easy way out”, and Stephen Covey vehemently supports this notion, “You always reap what you sow; there is no shortcut,” He uses the idea of trying to cram on a farm, forgetting to plant in the spring, and brushing it off all summer, yet coming back in the fall to try to reap a harvest that you did not sow. It isn’t possible. While some special cases may occur, the general rule stands true, and should be in the forefront in all of our lives.

The Bottom Line: You reap what you sow.

2 Responses to You Reap What You Sow

  1. Rabenstrange says:

    The idea that you reap what you sow is still as valid today as when it was recorded in the Bible 2000 years ago.

  2. Trebonte says:

    The quote from Emerson is indeed encouraging. Likewise I’m trying to exert my efforts into areas that I’m not at all comfortable with and it truly is difficult. I know it’ll be beneficial for me in the long run and, even more than that, vital for my dreams. The promise that this does indeed become easier through persistence, makes the work at hand lighter.

    Persistence in the light of difficulty is a distinguishing mark of what makes a man. Far to often do we avoid something or give up on a task because it is “too hard.” It takes a true man to stick with it even though the load seems at times to be unbearable.

    Not that I’ve obtained that level of persistence nor have I come anywhere near it. However it is a trait that I’m trying my utmost to ingrain into my very nature. And God permitting, I will do so.

Leave a Reply

